Yahoo! Events

Powered by:

C Company

C Company
Map showing Tairawhiti Museum

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 23 Mar ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 30 Mar ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 6 Apr ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 6 May ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 6 Jun ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 6 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 6 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 6 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 6 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 6 Nov ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 6 Dec ’12, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 6 Jan ’13, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 6 Feb ’13, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Tairawhiti Museum, Stout St, Gisborne Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Tickets:

  • Free Admission

This long-term exhibition is a moving tribute to the men of C Company who gave and risked their lives for the World War II Allied war effort.

The Tairawhiti Museum, in partnership with the C Company Trust Nga Taonga a Nga Tama Toa Trust, are celebrating the men and memories of the C Company, Maori (28) Battalion. The Maori Battalion was organised on a tribal basis. The C Company was made up of men from an area between Torere in the Eastern Bay of Plenty to Paritu, 40kms south of Gisborne. Nearly 1,000 men served with the C Company, including Te Moananui-a-Kiwa Ngarimu who was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross for bravery.

A main component of this display is a wall of photographs of the C Company soldiers. Most of the named soldiers have accompanying photographs and it is hoped one day this wall of photos will be complete.

A book compiled by Monty Soutar covering the history of C Company is now available. Nga Tama Toa is available at the Museum's website.

Open public holidays 1"30pm to 4pm.

Yahoo New Zealand Entertainment Top Stories 

Yahoo New Zealand Entertainment Top Stories

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo! Events, go to www.eventfinder.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: