Yahoo! Events

Powered by:

Home AKL

Home AKL
Map showing Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 7 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 8 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 30 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 31 Jul ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 1 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 2 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 3 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 4 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 5 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 6 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 7 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 8 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 9 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 10 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 11 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 12 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 13 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 14 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 15 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 16 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 17 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 18 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 19 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 20 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 21 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 22 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 23 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 24 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 25 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 26 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 27 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 28 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 29 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 30 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 31 Aug ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 3 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 8 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 9 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 10 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 11 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 12 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 13 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 14 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 15 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 16 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 17 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 18 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 19 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 20 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 21 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 23 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 24 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 25 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 26 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 27 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 28 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 29 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 30 Sep ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 1 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 2 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 3 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 4 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 5 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 6 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 7 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 8 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 9 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 10 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 11 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 12 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 13 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 14 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 15 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 16 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 17 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 18 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 19 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 20 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 21 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 22 Oct ’12, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, Cnr Kitchener and Wellesley Streets, Auckland CBD Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Tickets:

  • Adult: $5.00
  • Children 14 and under: $0.00

Related Artists:

John Pule, Shigeyuki Kihara

The first major group exhibition of contemporary Pacific art developed by Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki will open on Saturday 7 July and run until 22 October.

Home AKL is a dynamic exhibition presenting works by Pacific artists, most of whom live in Auckland.

Home AKL reveals the increasingly significant role Pacific art plays in New Zealand's identity and cultural landscape, and includes work by more than 20 artists whose heritage derives from the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Tonga and Tuvalu.

'New Zealand's contemporary Pacific art reflects many distinctive voices, stories and perspectives - it's urban, biographical and affected by its grass-roots community,' says the Gallery's Senior Curator, New Zealand and Pacific Art, Ron Brownson.

Artwork by three generations of Pacific artists show how these practitioners use personal experience to examine concepts of 'home' and belonging.

'It is impossible to consider New Zealand art today without taking account of the influence of the Pacific,' says Home AKL Associate Curator Ema Tavola of Fresh Gallery Otara. Also working with the Gallery on this exhibition are Associate Curators Nina Tonga and Kolokesa Māhina-Tuai.

A range of media, including painting, sculpture, photography, video and adornment has been selected. Alongside artwork from the Gallery's collection and loans, Home AKL will feature 13 new commissions, including five from Fiji, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Tonga and Tuvalu and present work by Joana Monolagi, Louisa Humphry, Kaetaeta Watson, Foufili Halagigie, Sēmisi Fetokai Potauaine, Kolokesa Kulīkefu, Hūlita Tupou and Lakiloko Keakea.

Home AKL's opening day will be celebrated with free entry to the exhibition, music and performances. A family-friendly Big Day Art will also be held with art workshops inspired by the exhibition. Over the course of Home AKL, the exhibition's supporting visitor programme will include free artist talks, film screenings and a seminar.

The exhibition is generously supported by Creative New Zealand and art patrons Rose Dunn and the Friedlander Foundation.

Level 1 exhibition spaces.

Concession rates available.

Exhibition patrons: Albert Refiti, Senior Lecturer and Head of Spatial Design Department, AUT University and Caroline Vercoe, Senior Lecturer Art History Department, University of Auckland.

Artists: Edith Amituanai, Graham Fletcher, Tanu Gago, Foufili Halagigie, Niki Hastings-McFall, Louisa Humphry, Lonnie Hutchinson, Ioane Ioane, Leilani Kake, Lakiloko Keakea, Shigeyuki Kihara, Kolokesa Kulīkefu, Jeremy Leatinu'u, Andy Leleisi'uao, Janet Lilo, Joana Monolagi, Ani O'Neill, Sēmisi Fetokai Potauaine, John Pule, Greg Semu, Siliga David Setoga, Paul Tangata, Angela Tiatia, Sopolemalama Filipe Tohi, Teuane Tibbo, Hūlita Tupou, Jim Vivieaere, Kaetaeta Watson.

Exhibition curators: Senior Curator - Ron Brownson, Associate Curators - Kolokesa Māhina-Tuai, Nina Tonga and Ema Tavola.

Yahoo New Zealand Entertainment Top Stories 

Yahoo New Zealand Entertainment Top Stories

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo! Events, go to www.eventfinder.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: