Yahoo Events

Powered by:

Victoria Cassells: Musings

Victoria Cassells: Musings
Map showing Black Asterisk

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Thu 12 Jul ’12, 6:30pm – 9:00pm
  • Fri 13 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 30 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 31 Jul ’12, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Black Asterisk, 10 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Tickets:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Black Asterisk

Preview: 6.30pm Thursday July 12th
Exhibition: Friday July 13th - Tuesday July 31st

'Musings' by Victoria Cassells, is a show greatly anticipated, not only because her work has featured almost from day one at the gallery, but because people fall in love with the delicate and dreamy waxed oils. Although Cassells says that she finds it difficult to talk about her work, she refers to the characters in the paintings as her bizarre extended family. During the painting process the various ‘relations’ slowly reveal themselves, giving the artist images to muse over, stories to weave.

Cassells has drawn on memories, emotions, past foibles, daydreams, flights of fancy and the art of storytelling, both visually and narratively, for her series of portraits. Striving to create an ‘atmospheric narrative’, one that encourages the viewer to weave their own story around such characters in Gretel Was Coping Just fine, or The Butcher’s Wife. Cassells’ work draws inspiration from the early twentieth century greats Odilon Redon, Degas, Schiele and Klimt and contemporary surrealist Geoffrey Proud.

Though her palette is for the most part gentle and redolent with glowing, soft colour, this is perhaps deceptive as Cassells’ characters themselves can be dark, and quirky, but not without humour. All is not quite what it first appears.

Cassells immigrated to New Zealand from England 8 years ago and lives in Greytown with her husband and 2 children. ‘Musings’ will be Cassells’ third solo exhibition, her first in Auckland.

For full press release see here...

http://www.blackasterisk.co.nz/_pdf/Victoria-Cassells-PR.pdf

Yahoo New Zealand Entertainment Top Stories 

Yahoo New Zealand Entertainment Top Stories

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo Events, go to www.eventfinder.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: