Yahoo Events

Powered by:

He Uru Hou: Our Native Plants

He Uru Hou: Our Native Plants

When:

  • Wed 30 Oct ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 31 Oct ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 1 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 2 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 3 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 4 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 5 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 6 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 7 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 8 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 9 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 10 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 11 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 12 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 13 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 14 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 15 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 16 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 17 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 18 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 19 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 20 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 21 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 22 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 23 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 24 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 26 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 27 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 28 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 29 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 30 Nov ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 1 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 2 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 3 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 4 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 5 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 6 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 7 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 8 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 9 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 10 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 11 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 12 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 13 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 14 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 15 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 16 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 17 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 18 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 19 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 20 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 21 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 22 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 23 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 24 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 25 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 26 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 27 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 28 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 29 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 30 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 31 Dec ’19, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 1 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 2 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 3 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 4 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 5 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 6 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 7 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 8 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 9 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 10 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 11 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 12 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 13 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 14 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 15 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 16 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 17 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 18 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 19 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 20 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 21 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 22 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 23 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 24 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 25 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 26 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 27 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 28 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 29 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 30 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 31 Jan, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 1 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 2 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 3 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 4 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 5 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 6 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 7 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 8 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sun 9 Feb, 9:00am – 5:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Canterbury Museum, Rolleston Ave, Christchurch

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

When the East Polynesian ancestors of Māori landed in New Zealand, they applied their extensive knowledge of plants to the new species they encountered.

When botanists Joseph Banks and Daniel Solander arrived here 250 years ago with James Cook’s first expedition they brought a different way of thinking about and classifying this same flora.

He Uru Hou: Our Native Plants combines the Māori and European ways of interpreting our native plants, symbolised in the exhibition by Jo Torr’s 2006 artwork Pacific Crossings, an eighteenth-century European style coat and waistcoat made from tapa cloth and embroidered with native plant designs.

Learn how Māori used plants to make medicine, clothing and tools. See actual samples gathered by Banks and Solander. Understand the role of plants in supporting native animals.

He Uru Hou is on from 30 October 2019 to 9 February 2020.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: