Yahoo Events

Powered by:

Michael Hight: Plateau

Michael Hight: Plateau

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Thu 28 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 29 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 30 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 2 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 3 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 5 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 6 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 7 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 9 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 10 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 11 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 12 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 13 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 14 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 15 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 16 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Mon 16 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Tue 17 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Wed 18 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 19 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Page Blackie Gallery, 42 Victoria St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Page Galleries

Michael Hight's latest exhibition features a series of paintings that offer a contemporary and distinctly local take on wunderkammern or cabinets of curiosities, those almost magical repositories for all manner of wondrous and unusual objects popularised in sixteenth-century Europe. Hight defines the composition of these works by employing a set of shelving units, with each compartment containing objects – musical instruments, skeletons, obscure tools, inkwells, antique toys – and fragments drawn from particular landscapes within Aotearoa.

The paintings offer an intriguing tableaux manifested from Hight’s own personal memories and experiences alongside national histories and geographies. The works are heavy with significance, yet their origin and meaning remain invitingly mysterious. Set inside some of these shelves are sections of beehives; colourful hive bodies stacked one upon the other.

These hives appear as if displaced from another of Hight’s ongoing and distinctly familiar painting series, in which beehives are set against the backdrop of breath-taking rural and mountain scenes. These works depict an archetypal and arguably idealised New Zealand, yet there is a certain poignancy here; an interesting tension between those manmade structures and the untamed New Zealand landscape.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: