Yahoo Events

Powered by:

Solid Ground

Solid Ground

When:

  • Sat 28 Sep ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Sep ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 30 Sep ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 1 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 2 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 3 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 4 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 5 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 6 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 7 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 8 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 9 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 10 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 11 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 12 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 13 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 14 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 15 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 16 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 17 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 18 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 19 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 20 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 21 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 22 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 23 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 24 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 25 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 26 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 27 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 28 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 29 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 30 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 31 Oct ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 1 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 2 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 3 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 4 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 5 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 6 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 7 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 8 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 9 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 10 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 11 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 12 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 13 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 14 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 15 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 17 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 18 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 19 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 20 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 21 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 22 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 23 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 24 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 25 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 26 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 27 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 28 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 29 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 30 Nov ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 1 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 2 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 3 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 4 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 5 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 6 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 8 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 30 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 31 Dec ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 1 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 2 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 3 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 4 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 5 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 6 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 7 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 8 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 9 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 10 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 11 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 12 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 13 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 14 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 15 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 16 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 17 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 18 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 19 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 20 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 21 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 22 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 23 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 24 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 25 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 26 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 27 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 28 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 29 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 30 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 31 Jan, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Feb, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Feb, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

The Dowse Art Museum, 45 Laings Rd, Lower Hutt

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Solid Ground brings together a selection of unconventional landscapes from The Dowse Collection, moving beyond figurative painting to include abstract works, photography, sculpture and printmaking.

Using landscape as a form of personal expression, the artists in Solid Ground reflect on the history, culture and environment of Aotearoa New Zealand. As our collective identities continue to shift, these artists search for their own sense of solid ground—or safety, identity and belonging— in the physical and psychological places they occupy.

Since the mid-twentieth century, New Zealanders have looked to define ourselves outside of our connections with Britain. One of the ways artists have contributed to this is through their reflections on the land that sustains us here in Te Moana-Nui-a-Kiwa (the Pacific).

Solid Ground also recognises the 100th anniversary of Colin McCahon’s birth. Acknowledging the artist’s profound investigations into identity through abstract landscape painting, this exhibition includes his significant work Through the Wall of Death: A Banner (1972), placing it within a wider context of New Zealand contemporary art practice now.

Other artists in Solid Ground include Ann Shelton, Ann Verdcourt, Areta Wilkinson, Brent Wong, Doris Lusk, Jeffery Harris, John Bevan Ford, John Lake, Judy McIntosh Wilson, Ralph Hotere, Ronnie van Hout, Robert Ellis and Shane Cotton.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: