Yahoo Events

Powered by:

The Future of Work

The Future of Work

When:

  • Sat 3 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 4 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 5 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 6 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 7 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 8 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 9 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 10 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 11 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 12 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 13 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 14 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 15 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 16 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 17 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 18 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 19 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 20 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 25 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 26 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 27 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 28 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 29 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 30 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 31 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 1 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 2 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 3 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 4 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 5 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 6 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 8 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 30 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 1 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 2 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 3 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 4 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 5 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 6 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 7 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 8 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 9 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 10 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 11 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 12 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 13 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 14 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 15 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 16 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 17 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 18 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 19 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 20 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 21 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 22 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 23 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 24 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 25 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 26 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 27 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 28 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 29 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 30 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 31 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 1 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 2 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 3 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 4 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 5 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 6 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 7 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 8 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 9 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 10 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 11 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 12 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 13 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 14 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 15 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 17 Nov, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

The Dowse Art Museum, 45 Laings Rd, Lower Hutt

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

The Future of Work looks at the changing nature of our working lives and the impact of ever-increasing automation and globalization. The exhibition includes archival material about industry in Lower Hutt and features a range of artists whose practices address labour, work culture and collective action.

Lower Hutt is a working class city, a place with a long history as a site of trade and manufacturing. In the nineteenth century, three industries in particular came to drive the local economy: the woollen mills, the meat works, and the railway workshops.

Alongside these, in the twentieth century factories such as Unilever, Griffins and Ford blossomed, employing many thousands of local workers. Following the closure of the majority of these businesses, the focus in recent times has shifted for the city towards light industry, research and innovation.

In conjunction with burgeoning industry over the years, Lower Hutt led the way with demands for workers’ rights. It was Petone carpenter Samuel Parnell who fought for the 8-hour working day, and several moments of union action in Lower Hutt have been critical, such as the Petone Woolen Mills strike of 1890 – the most prolonged to have occurred in New Zealand at the time.

Today, the world of work is vastly different to the past era of businesses founded on manual production processes. The impact of the digital age and potential for automation has significantly altered the way that we communicate, live and work. Coupled with this, ever-growing globalization and the accelerated flow of capital, products and labour has led to unpredictable and unstable markets.

As our working conditions continue to change rapidly, workers are under greater pressure, working under precarious contracts that claim to provide flexibility yet offer little security, and an expectation that we are available 24/7. This has resulted in an expansion of inequality and escalating health, housing and social issues.

The Future of Work presents a context for labour and activism through the history of Lower Hutt. It provides historical material and narratives as a way to understand the practices of contemporary artists who are concerned with aspects of work and how these shifts impact on individuals, families and communities.

Featuring works from Harun Farocki, Fiona Jack, Elisabeth Pointon, Public Share, Deborah Rundle, Allan Sekula & Noël Burch, John Vea, Peter Wareing and more.

*We support Te Wa Heke.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

Sponsored Links

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Yahoo Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by: